The Cigar Thread

hyson

Forum Jerk
Oct 19, 2008
I'm just learning about the fine craft of cigar smoking and thought I'd gauge the forum's interest in it, if at all.

I tried a few selections from a sampler I ordered from Thompson Cigar company and an Arturo Fuente. I'm not sure I understand cigars yet.

What are some thoughts?

HecticArt

Administrator
Oct 19, 2008
Toledo, Ohio
I like a good stinker!
I only smoke a couple a year anymore though.

I used to subscribe to Cigar Aficionado back in the day. They have all kinds of ratings each month. Check out their website to see if they are still offering them for free, or just pick up an issue every now and then.

I usually like Robustos. Fat like Churchill's, so they burn nice and cool, but shorter, so it doesn't take you 4 hours to finish one.

They are like wine to me. I don't know what all of those subtle flavors are that I'm tasting unless I read a review that tells me what I'm tasting. Even then, I only detect some of them.

memebag

Top Brass, ADVP
Oct 11, 2008
Lake Huntzing
There isn't a lot to understand. Try a bunch and smoke what you enjoy.

Fuentes are some of my favorites. They have a cheap brand called Montesino that I love more than anything but real Cuban Cohiba Siglo Vs.

voliconjoe

Jan 11, 2011
With cigars, it's all about atmosphere. You need to be one with the smoke. Also it's a good chaser with coniac. Also no "debbie downers" allowed. These are the retards that sit there and try to tell you about how bad smoking is when what's really killing you is constant bitching and nagging.

You'll need to invest in teeth whitening strips too.

limegrass69

Confused
Oct 12, 2008
New York
I used to smoke them a lot more. I've really cut down...maybe 2 or 3 a year at a social function. It's hard to do while at the same time telling your kids that smoking is bad.

HecticArt

Administrator
Oct 19, 2008
Toledo, Ohio
There isn't a lot to understand. Try a bunch and smoke what you enjoy.