XMP3 And Lifetime Subscription Issues

seanzies

Jun 10, 2009
I have a lifetime subscription to XM and purchased the XMP3 in January of this year. I upgraded and paid the $75 transfer fee. My radio quit working in May. I contacted Pioneer and they are sending me a replacement unit free of charge. However, XM says they will charge me the $75 transfer fee again. This will be my third and final radio that is allowed on my lifetime subscription. What happens if the new radio breaks again? Would it mean I just paid $550 for less than a year of service? Should I get a refund from Pioneer and re-activate my old radio that I had for 5 years?

I'm very disappointed with the customer service of XM. They say that they told me when I signed up, the membership is for the lifetime of the radio and if it is defective, it will count against me. I asked to see a document I signed or hear a recorded phone call with someone telling me this. They can't produce either one. I am 100% sure I wasn't told about a defective radio counting against me. I never would've signed up for the lifetime.

If anyone has any suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it. I'm beyond frustrated and a service that I thought I could never live without, has me thinking about canceling.

Sean

MAJ Badmotherfarker

is drinking a beer.
Oct 11, 2008
Washington D.C.
I have a lifetime subscription to XM and purchased the XMP3 in January of this year. I upgraded and paid the $75 transfer fee. My radio quit working in May. I contacted Pioneer and they are sending me a replacement unit free of charge. However, XM says they will charge me the $75 transfer fee again. This will be my third and final radio that is allowed on my lifetime subscription. What happens if the new radio breaks again? Would it mean I just paid $550 for less than a year of service? Should I get a refund from Pioneer and re-activate my old radio that I had for 5 years?