Programming Languages

Discussion in 'General Computer Talk' started by Mopar86, Jan 24, 2009.

1. Mopar86

Mopar86 Member

Is anyone fluent in multiple programming languages, web based or other. I am currently a Noob learning BASIC right now and I was wondering if anyone has any experience or knows any good learning tools.

Basically I am dabbling in writing games in BLITZ

2. leth

leth Member

BASIC is a good place to start. Hense the name :) It lets you learn programming concepts (input/output, variables, if-then, loops, etc) without exposing all the exotic stuff. Once you learn the concepts, they apply to all other languages; the syntax might change but the ideas are the same.

I believe C++ is widely used for games, only because it gives you lots of control over memory and speed. I haven't heard of BLITZ, but I never got into the game stuff :) .. My programming experience has been mainly business applications and websites. You don't see C++ in too many business applications, because they usually focus on "RAD" (rapid application development) which typically involves VB.Net, Java, etc (these languages provide functions for a lot of the nitty gritty stuff that you have to do yourself in C++; e.g. array searches, string manipulation, etc)

I think it's important to know programming concepts, even if you're not planning to become a programmer. If you're troubleshooting systems or applications, it helps to understand how programs work so that you can understand what is going on. I've never been a full-time programmer, it's always just been a hobby for me, but it's helped a lot during my career.