I have written a letter to Scott Greenstein & Music Programming at SIRIUS & XM

hexagram

Medicinal & Recreational.
Oct 11, 2008
Seattle, WA
Here is what I wrote to Scott Greenstein (similar letters sent to the Music Programming departments at SIRIUS and XM):

Dear Mr. Greenstein,

I am a devoted and loyal subscriber to SIRIUS Satellite Radio (I have a lifetime subscription to SIRIUS Satellite Radio and have recently added on "The Best of XM" to my lifetime subscription.

I am also a shareholder in the company (who isn't too happy about the imminent reverse stock split, by the way). But I didn't vote against it. I want to see this company thrive and prosper.

As to why I'm writing, I must say that I'm very disappointed to see that you removed Cinemagic from the lineup on SIRIUS. Now, I understand full and well that duplication must be removed for cost savings, but Cinemagic is not a duplicate channel in any sense of the word. There is simply no channel on SIRIUS that offers movie soundtracks. It is it's own genre of music. I can also see you brought back two channels "The Strobe" and "Backspin" because of subscribers who were very disappointed to see two genres of music that had no alternative channel placement in the lineup.

You could at the very least put the Cinemagic channel on the Internet-only feed. You're doing that already with NPR and Bob Edwards on the SIRIUS side (the latter for Best of XM subscribers), and you have a separate Cinemagic feed on the XM side of Internet Radio (it doesn't even share the same channel number as it's satellite feed). There are also various channels on the XM side that are Online-only, so it is certainly doable.

Please don't sacrifice one unique type of programming for another. Please consider keeping a place for Cinemagic on SIRIUS (whether it's on the satellite feed, or only on SIR [SIRIUS Internet Radio]).

Sincerely,
XXXXX XXXXX
(Lifetime subscriber, shareholder, and devout fan of SIRIUS Satellite Radio)